News and Announcements


It’s AGM time again. Please come out and support your club. Falcons need your ideas and enthusiasm. Please come out on Thursday December 13th at 7pm at the South Delta Rec Centre (Arctic Room) and make your voice heard!!!


In December, the Men’s Junior National Team will compete in a four match test series against the USA’s Junior National Squad in Moorpark, California.  This will be Canada’s first competition since their silver finish at the Pan American Junior Championship in September. 

As the Junior Squad continues building toward the 2013 Junior World Cup next December, the team welcomes a number of new and returning athletes to the roster.  Liam Fannin, Tom Fannin and Oliver Scholfield will look to make their first international appearance.  The roster will be anchored by five members of the Pan American Junior Championship Team; Taylor Curran, Gordon Johnston, Brenden Bissett, Tristan Burgoyne and Andrew Kanerva. 

“The USA will be a tough opponent – they will definitely challenge us,” says Head Coach Mathias Ahrens.  “As we prepare for the Junior World Cup, this series is an opportunity to gain valuable international experience as we integrate several new players.” The roster was selected based on athlete performances at the Men’s National Identification Camp in early November. 

“The depth of performance at the ID Camp was exceptional,” says Ahrens.  “We were able to identify a number of talented athletes with strong abilities and enthusiasm.  At the USA Series I will look to see who will continue to step up on the international level.” Several familiar faces on the Men’s Junior National Squad will compete with the Senior Men at the 2012 Champions Challenge 1 in Quilmes, Argentina later this month and will not be on the USA Series roster.
Brenden Bissett (New Westminster, BC): Tristan Burgoyne (Vancouver, BC): Graeme Carswell (Tsawwassen, BC): Taylor Curran (North Vancouver, BC): Justin Dhaliwal (Surrey, BC): Liam Fannin (Vancouver, BC): Tom Fannin (Vancouver, BC): Gurteg Gill (Surrey, BC): Hermann Grewal (Surrey, BC): Gordon Johnston (Vancouver, BC): Andrew Kanerva (Tsawwassen, BC): Manvir Kingra (Surrey, BC): Tyler Klenk (Regina, SK): Sukhi Panesar (Surrey, BC): Kevin Pereira (Ajax, ON): Oliver Scholfield (Vancouver, BC): John Sharp (Victoria, BC): Tanveer Sidhu (Surrey, BC)
RESERVES: Sunny Aujla (Surrey, BC): Josh Brown (Victoria, BC): Akash Gill (Surrey, BC): Amit Kullar (Surrey, BC): CJ Roydhouse (Burnaby, BC)

Mathias Ahrens (Head Coach): Alvin Bissett (Team Manager): Ryan Leaver (Physiotherapist)


Dec 17 @ 2:30pm PT (Canada vs USA)

Dec 18 @ 2:30pm PT (Canada vs USA)

Dec 20 @ 10:00am PT (Canada vs USA)

Dec 21 @ 10:00am PT (Canada vs USA)


Congratulations to recent Falcon grad Emma Mackie, for being named the FHBC Junior Women’s Player of the Year for 2012. Emma played many years for Falcons teams at both the junior and senior levels. She has been a regular participant in the FHBC Regional Program and this past season co-captained the BC U18 Provincial Blue team to the National Championships in Calgary where she was honoured with a Tournament XI award. Emma is also a member of the Canadian National Women’s Junior squad. She is currently attending Providence College in Rhode Island on a field hockey scholarship.


After months of travelling across the country in search of the most promising up-and-coming field hockey athletes under the age of 17, Men’s Junior National Head Coach Mathias Ahrens has selected a group of 21 athletes to represent Canada on the Men’s Junior National Target 2017 Team (see roster below).  18 of these athletes will compete in their first international matches later this month in a series of games against the USA running November 27th – December 2nd at Moorpark College. 
“This US tour is just the beginning,” says Ahrens.  “I’m really looking forward to it.  We have an excited young group that will get to represent their country for the first time.  The Target 2017 Men are a solid, competitive team.”

This will also be the first international series for Sandeep Chopra.  Field Hockey Canada is pleased to announce Chopra as the Team Manager for the Men’s Target 2017 Program.  With over 40 years of experience in the field hockey community, Chopra is excited for his new role. 
“This is a huge honour for me,” says Chopra of Ottawa. “It gives me so much energy to see young people getting an opportunity to compete at this level.  They are so excited to represent their country – it’s invigorating.  A lot of these athletes have a long road ahead of them.  It’s very rewarding to help them reach their goals.” 
“The impact of the Target 2017 Program is huge,” says Chopra.  “It gets the kids involved, gives them a more tangible goal.  They know it will be a long road to the Junior or Senior National, but the Target 2017 Program gives athletes something to push for at a young age.  This program has already sparked interest across Canada.  It also helps raise the profile of junior hockey, and will hopefully encourage more kids to participate.” 

So what is the goal of the Target 2017 Program?


The  Women’s National Team took to the field today against Venezuela for their first match of the 2012 FIH World League Round 1 in Port of Spain, Trinidad & Tobago where the top three teams advance to the next round.  Today marked many firsts for the Women’s National Team as they work towards qualification for the 2014 World Cup. 
“We came in with an offensive game plan and can look back at good stretches of play,” says Head Coach Kimo Linders.  “Execution in the circle worked well.”
The team has been adjusting to the varied weather conditions of Trinidad & Tobago including high temperatures, torrential rains and humidity. 
Team Canada’s goals were scored by 7 different players including:  Thea Culley (19’), Brienne Stairs (11’, 47’,61’), Abigail Raye (32’), Katherine Gillis (38’,70’), Poonam Sandhu (28’), Marian Dickinson(53’, 55’) and Caashia Karringten (5’, 64’).  Dickinson, Karringten and Sandhu scored their first international goals for Canada.  In addition, first international caps were earned by Angela Lancaster, Rachel Donohoe and Lauren Logush.  After reading the player’s oath during the opening ceremony, Logush’s honour was highlighted by stopping a penalty stroke.
After the game at the National Hockey Centre Eastern Regional Complex in Tacaruiga, the WNT were honoured by a visit at the field from Cyril Joseph, Acting High Commissioner of Canada to Trinidad & Tobago, and his wife Lisa. They came to watch and cheer on the team in their victory over Venezuela.
The WNT plays Guyana followed by Barbados,Trinidad &Tobago and Uruguay during the tournament from November 11 to 17.